Time for a Change

The synod has repeatedly looked to District and Synod Presidents to provide leadership to encourage our congregations into active mission in their community. While the synod president is only one person, he is to be the spiritual leader and mission encourager for us all.

Under President Harrison's leadership these past 9 years the synod has continued to decline in child baptisms, youth and adult confirmations. President Harrison has repeatedly said that we will continue to decline by 500,000 members in the next few years. His solution to address the decline is that we should be planting churches among people who look like us in communities where we have no churches.

Nine years ago, then candidate Harrison, published his, "It's Time," where he criticized then President Kieschnick for the declining synod. He lifted up himself as the solution for the synod's problems and the answer for the declining church. Today we are worse off than we were when he was elected. Additional changes under President Harrison's leadership are increased clericalism and more authority in the office of the president.

We, the undersigned, are former District Presidents who have worked with President Kieschnick and/or President Harrison and believe President Harrison has had his opportunity to lead our synod and are convinced **It is time for a change** in leadership for our church body. We encourage you to support and vote for David Maier, President of the Michigan District or Tim Klinkenberg, Pastor of St. John's Lutheran Church, Orange, CA.

Both men are confessional pastors and leaders who are committed to the mission of reaching all people with the Gospel. They have a long history in the LCMS and come from a long heritage of pastors and leaders in the LCMS.

It is time for a change and we seek your support for these leaders.

Signed: Former District Presidents

Bill Ameiss, Northern Illinois David Buegler, Ohio and 5th Vice President, LCMS Andy Dzurovcik, SELC Bill Hoesman, Michigan Bill Klettke, New Jersey Keith Kohlmeier, Kansas Carl Krueger, SELC Arleigh Lutz, North Wisconsin Dan May, Indiana Ray Mirly, Missouri Kurt Schultz, Southern Warren Schumacher, Northwest Larry Stoterau, Pacific Southwest District Walt Tietjen, Calirfornia, Nevada, Hawaii Tom Zehnder, Florida-Georgia David Belasic, Eastern District